Diana Vickers and Gabriella Cilmi help Paolo Nutini celebrate Scottish Fashion win

Topping off a weekend that saw Glam in the City and Miss Scotland take place in George Square, The Scottish Fashion Awards rolled out the red, or should that be tartan, carpet at the Science Centre last night.

Dubbed the Oscars of Scottish fashion, stars from around the world flocked to attend the glittering occasion and celebrate Scottish style.

Singers Gabriella Cilmi and Diana Vickers strutted their gorgeous mini-frocks up the tartan runway whilst STV’s own Jean Johansson shone in a stunning, yellow, floor length Ralph Lauren frock.

Now to be outdone, male celebs looked dashing in their tailored suits and kilts, much to the delight of host for the night MTV presenter Laura Whitmore, who told stv.tv: “I love men in kilts!”

Scots singer Paolo Nutini was the leading man of the evening though, scooping the title of Scottish Fashion Icon of the Year.

Arriving with model girlfriend Teri Brogan (contrary to reports, they are still very much together), Paolo seemed genuinely shocked to have scooped the stylish title, joking that style is clearly “a Paisley thing” because actor Gerard Butler was also up for the award.

Handsome Dolce and Gabbana model David Gandy also attended the event as did Taggart favourite John Michie.

Models and designers were awarded for being leading lights in their field not only in Scotland, but throughout the globe and the international guestlist from the world of fashion highlighted just how important Scotland has become in the style stakes.

The 2010 winners were:

•    Scottish Designer of the Year – sponsored by Vogue.com – JONATHAN SAUNDERS
•    Scottish Young Designer of the Year – sponsored by Glasgow: Scotland with Style – HOLLY FULTON
•    Scottish Textile Brand of the Year – sponsored by The Herald – ANGELA CASSIDY
•    Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year – sponsored by Swarovski – WILLIAM CHAMBERS
•    Scottish Fashion Icon – sponsored by Galaxy Radio – PAOLO NUTINI
•    Scottish Communicator of the Year – sponsored by Glasgow Airport – EILIDH MCASKILL
•    Scottish Model of the Year – sponsored by Toni & Guy – LISA OMAND
•    Scottish Retailer of the Year – sponsored by Forth Wines – CRUISE
•    Scotland’s New Face – sponsored by Boohoo.com – TERRI MCGLONE
•    Scottish Graduate of the Year – sponsored by Marks & Spencer – JETT SWEENEY
•    International Designer of the Year (for use of a Scottish fabric) – sponsored by Mercedes Benz West of Scotland – MARKUS LUPFER
•    Scottish Hall of Fame 2010 – sponsored by Hotel Du Vin – MALCOLM EDWARDS (session hair stylist)

What do you think? Please Sign-in or Join to leave a comment. And check-out our House Rules so that we can all make this a better experience for everyone.