La Traviata: Scottish Opera singers tell the story

Scottish Opera is about to take Verdi's evergreen tale of star-crossed lovers, Verdi's La Traviata, out on the road for one of its longest ever tours.

So we thought we'd ask two of the young singers who are taking part to tell us the story.

And it turned that Andrew McTaggart and Katie Grosset, who are both part of Scottish Opera's Emerging Artists scheme, were a natural double act.

Maybe Scottish Opera should get them to tell the story before every show!

La Traviata is usually set in 19th century Paris but this production has been updated to the 1950s.

Violetta, the leading lady, is still a courtesan, but Alfredo, usually a poet, has been upgraded to being a photographer.

Their forbidden love is still the same and still has the same outcome as it did in the original story on which the opera is based, Alexandre Dumas' The Lady of the Camelias.

The tour will travel the length and breadth of Scotland as far north as Shetland.

Performance Dates

Sat 22 Sept 7.30pm Eastwood Park Theatre, Giffnock

Tue 25 Sept 7.30pm Macrobert, Stirling

Thu 27 Sept 7.30pm Nevis Centre, Fort William

Sat 29 Sept 7.30pm Plockton High School

Thu 2 Oct, 7.30pm Aros Centre, Portree

Thu 4 Oct, 8pm Strathpeffer Pavilion

Sat 6 Oct 7.30pm Byre Theatre, St Andrews

Tue 9 Oct 7.30pm Deeside Theatre, Aboyne

Thu 11 Oct 7.30pm Craigmonie Centre, Drumnadrochit

Sat 13 Oct 7.30pm Haddo House, Ellon

Tue 16 Oct 7.30pm Garrison Theatre, Lerwick

Thu 18 Oct Orkney Arts Theatre, Kirkwall

Sat 20 Oct 7.30pm Thurso High School

Tue 23 Oct 7.30pm Macphail Theatre, Ullapool

Thu 25 Oct 7.30pm An Lanntair, Stornoway

Sat 27 Oct 7.30pm Nairn Community & Arts Centre

Tue 6 Nov 7.30pm The Platform, Easterhouse

Thu 8 November 7.30pm Volunteer Hall, Galashiels

Sat 10 Nov 7.30pm Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Tue 13 Nov 7.30pm The Arts Guild Theatre, Greenock

Thu 15 Nov 7.30pm The Cinema, Newton Stewart

Sat 17 Nov 7.30pm Buccleuch Centre, Langholm

Tue 20 Nov 7.30pm Vikingar, Largs

Thu 22 Nov 7.30pm The Brunton, Musselburgh

Sat 24 Nov 7.30pm Perth Theatre

Check out the full interview with stars of the show in the player above.

People who read this story also read