Shortlist for 32nd Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards revealed

Tony Law talks to STV
No noonsense approach: Tony Law has been nominated for (slightly oddly titled) show

The Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards – famously previously sponsored by Perrier – are generally seen as the most coveted honour for comedians to receive at the Fringe.

Previous winners of the main award include Adam Riches (last year), Russell Kane, Tim Key, Daniel Kitson, Al Murray, Rich Hall, The League of Gentlemen, Dylan Moran, Lee Evans, Steve Coogan and Frank Skinner.

Nica Burns, producer of the Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards said: “The nominees sum up an extraordinarily inventive year for comedy at this year’s Fringe.”

The nominations for Foster’s Best Comedy Show are:

  • Claudia O’Doherty – The Telescope (Underbelly, Cowgate)
  • Doctor Brown – Befrdfgth (Underbelly, Cowgate)
  • James Acaster – Prompt (Pleasance Courtyard)
  • Josie Long – Romance and Adventure (Pleasance Courtyard)
  • Pappy’s – Last Show Ever! (Pleasance Dome)
  • Tony Law – Maximum Noonsense (The Stand Comedy Club)

The nominations for Foster’s Best Newcomer are:

  • Daniel Simonsen – Champions (Pleasance Courtyard)
  • David Trent – Spontaneous Comedian (Pleasance Courtyard)
  • Discover Ben Target (Underbelly, Cowgate)
  • Joe Lycett – Some Lycett Hot (Pleasance Courtyard)
  • Sam Fletcher – Good on Paper (Bannermans)

The winners will be announced on Saturday 25 August at a lunchtime ceremony at Dovecot Studios, Infirmary Street.

Burns added: “The shows demonstrate all the comedic art forms - standup, mime, sketch and multi-media experimentation.

“The performers are all immensely charismatic and often thought-provoking whilst being extremely funny. Two excellent nomination lists.”

The Awards and prizes are Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000, Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000, and the Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000.

Related articles