Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat win Scottish Album Of The Year with Everything’s Getting Older

Scottish Album Of The Year winner
Scottish Album Of The Year winner

The winner for the inaugural Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award has been announced this evening - with former Arab Strap member Aidan Moffat and composer Bill Wells' collaboration Everything's Getting Older coming up trumps.

The Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA) revealed the 10-album short list last month, after 100 music and arts industry figures from across Scotland submitted their nominations for the Scottish Album of the Year. 

The winning album, which was released on acclaimed Scottish label Chemikal Underground, was announced at a ceremony in Glasgow Film City, earning the duo a grand prize of £20,000. The nine runners-up will each be receiving £1,000.

Before their win Moffat had paid tribute on stage to the introduction of the SAY award, which celebrated a rich diversity of acts from across the Scottish music spectrum.

After the win, Moffat said: “It’s fantastic. I still can’t quite believe it. Obviously we’re very, very happy. It was a great shortlist.

"The Scottish Album of the Year Award is all about is introducing people to a wide variety of different types music - the award is very, very important from an industry point of view too and we hope there are many more of them.”

Bill Wells added: “We’re extremely chuffed, it’s been a fantastic night and it’s a tremendous honour.”

Fiona Hyslop, Cabinet Secretary for Culture and External Affairs, presented Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat with the prestigious award at this evening’s ceremony.

She said: "Congratulations to Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat, winners of the first ever Scottish Album of the Year. "

Wells is a Scottish multi-instrumentalist, composer, leader of the Bill Wells Trio and collaborator with The Pastels, Isobel Campbell, Future Pilot AKA and many more. Moffat is a modern-day Makar of many guises; Aidan John Moffat & the Best-Ofs; his experimental work as L Pierre (aka Lucky Pierre) and, of course, his calling as one half of the heralded Scots duo Arab Strap. Everything’s Getting Older had been eight years in the making, but made a lasting impression even before the win. 

The evening's event, hosted by Janice Forsyth and Vic Galloway, also included performances from Miaoux Miaoux and Profisee, the Electric String Orchestra (with guests including Rachel Sermanni, Emma Pollock and members of The Twilight Sad), and Holy Esque.

The short list featured collaborations by King Creosote and Jon Hopkins, and Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat; the dancehall and dub reggae of Mungo’s Hi-Fi alongside the acid-jazz fusion of Tommy Smith; the guitar-centric instrumental prowess of Mogwai and Remember Remember; the boundary-pushing electronic whizz of Rustie and the ethereal ambience of Happy Particles; the angst-rock of Twin Atlantic offset and the glacial, micro-electronica of Conquering Animal Sound.  

The Scottish Album of the Year shortlist was as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat - Everything’s Getting Older
  • Conquering Animal Sound - Kammerspiel
  • Happy Particles - Under Sleeping Waves
  • King Creosote & Jon Hopkins - Diamond Mine
  • Mogwai - Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will
  • Mungo’s Hi Fi - Forward Ever
  • Remember Remember - The Quickening
  • Rustie - Glass Swords
  • Tommy Smith - Karma
  • Twin Atlantic - Free

Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat will also receive an artwork from the winner of a SAY Award art commission. The commission, valued at £20,000, was offered to graduates from Scotland’s four principal art schools with the winning graduate producing ten artworks to be donated as prizes for the shortlisted finalists.

In this pilot year, Glasgow School of Art Digital Culture graduate Fraser Clark has been awarded the art commission, which aims to celebrate the vital, enduring links that exist between music and art. 

What do you think? Please Sign-in or Join to leave a comment. And check-out our House Rules so that we can all make this a better experience for everyone.