Ruby Wax to judge So You Think You’re Funny? 2012

Bra-vo: Ruby Wax will be putting in Edinburgh appearance for stand-up competition
Bra-vo: Ruby Wax will be putting in Edinburgh appearance for stand-up competition© Steve Black/Rex Features

It’s one of the most prestigious competitions for up-and-coming stand-up comedians – and on Thursday the winner will be determined by a panel of judges including TV and comedy star Ruby Wax.

Nine of the country’s funniest up and coming comics have been put through their paces and are now preparing for Foster’s So You Think You’re Funny? THE FINAL!, the culmination of Edinburgh Fringe Festival’s best known stand-up comedy competition, on Thursday 23rd August 2012 at 8 p.m.

TV and comedy star Ruby Wax will be this year’s celebrity judge and Jason Cook, writer and performer of new BBC sitcom Hebburn, will compere the live grand final.

This year’s winner will not only take away the coveted title, but will also receive a £5000 cash prize and a trip to perform at Montreal’s Just For Laughs Festival.

Past ‘So You Think You’re Funny?’ winners include Peter Kay, David O’Doherty, Rhona Cameron, Lee Mack, Tommy Tiernan, Miles Jupp, Rob Rouse, Dylan Moran and 2011 winner Tommy Rowson, to name but a few.

This year the search for the best comedy newcomer took the Gilded Balloon’s competition organisers to Brighton, Bristol, Dublin, Glasgow, Inverness, Leeds, London, Manchester, Newcastle and Sutton Coldfield with a selected shortlist going through to perform at this year’s Fringe heats.

This is trial by comedy fire, with comedians given just eight minutes to impress the ever-demanding expert judging panel.

This year’s finalists are Amir Khoshsokhan, Wayne Mazadza, Aisling Bea, Jonathan Pelham, Ingrid Dahle, Conor Neville, Nick Dixon, Glenn Moore and Murdo Haggs.

Foster’s So You Think You’re Funny? THE FINAL! takes place at Gilded Balloon – Debating Hall on Thursday from 8pm to 10.30pm. For bookings phone 0131 622 6552 or visit [](http://